The Rugby Fives Association

The first Annual General Meeting of the Rugby Fives Association was held at Dr Cyriax's house in Welbeck Street on October 29th 1928. The original officers of the Association were VEA Bowley, hon. secretary, HD Beevers, hon. treasurer, with PA Malt, Dr. EF Cyriax, LLM Marsden, JW Nye and WH Pett as members of the Committee, but at the second annual meeting the Committee was changed, KW Millage, JH Pickup and GR Rimmer being elected with Dr. Cyriax and PA Malt.

RFA Presidents, Vice-Presidents (and Deputy Presidents)

- The RFA has had 33 Presidents, 31 elected Vice-Presidents and (since 1970) 28 Deputy Presidents.
- The first President was The Bishop of London, the Rt. Rev. AF Winnington-Ingram, whose office was purely honorific and continued until his death in 1946, when EF Cyriax was elected President.
- The first Vice-Presidents were EF Cyriax and WF Marchant in the early 1930s.
- Dr Cyriax was Chairman of the RFA Committee from 1927 and his early election as a Vice-President was a mark of his status as the founder of the Association and Chairman of Committee.
- Mr Marchant was a wealthy man who endowed the Marchant Cup for London Grammar Schools in 1929. He was never a member of the Committee or an active officer of the Association but was a patron figure, recognised as such by his election as Vice-President.
- Further Vice-Presidents elected in the 1930s were John Bell (High Master of St. Paul's School 1927-38), WR Booth (Headmaster of Dulwich College 1928-41), RB Henderson (Headmaster of Alleyn's School 1920-40) and KW Millage (Committee 1928-35, Match Secretary 1932-35).
- After the War, the position of Vice-President lapsed until 1951, when the Committee decided to restore the office and elect 4 Vice-Presidents in recognition of their service to the Association and the game. They were: J Armitage (Hon. Sec. 1934-51), VEA Bowley (Hon. Sec. 1927-34), KW Millage (re-elected) and FF Spragg (master-in-charge at Oundle School 1930s and 1940s).
- Since 1951, 22 further Vice-Presidents have been elected. Some of them turned out to be 'Presidents in Waiting' (GR Rimmer, BR Griffiths, RA Colville, HD Beevers, JG Burton and WH Pett); all of them were recognised for their respective achievements as honorary officers, members of Committee, masters-in-charge, headmasters, area representatives and/or tournament organisers.
- The office of Deputy President was created in 1970, and since then the Deputy President has normally been elected President after two years in office. In 2017/18, BJ Atkinson continued for an extra year as interim President because his Deputy, DK Bawtree, was ill.
- All past Presidents are deemed to have the status of Vice-President.

Honorary Life Members

- The position of Hon. Life Member was created by the RFA Club in the days when it was a separate organisation. Geoffrey Rimmer (the founder of the Club) was the first HLM, Tom and Joan Wood the second and third when they retired from managing the Club's affairs over 18 years.
- When the Club and the Association merged in 1996, the RFA accepted that Honorary Life Members were different from Vice-Presidents, in that they were not expected to pay a subscription. Michael Beaman was made an HLM when he retired after ten years as General Secretary in 2003.
- David Gardner and David Barnes were made Hon. Life Members in 2013. The Jesters Club was given Hon. Life membership status in 2016. Ian Fuller was made an Hon. Life Member in 2017 and David Hebden in 2022.

[record updated October 2022]

OFFICERS OF THE RUGBY FIVES ASSOCIATION

Presidents 1927-46 A.F.Winnington-Ingram 1947-55 E.F.Cyriax 1955-60 J.Armitage 1960-65 G.R.Rimmer 1965-70 B.R.Griffiths 1970-71 H.D.Beevers 1971-72 J.W.Nye 1972-74 W.H.Pett 1974-76 D.E.Gardner 1976 T.J.Wood 1976-79 R.A.Colville 1979-81 J.G.Burton 1981-83 D.M.Hebblethwaite 1983-85 A.I.F.Mackenzie 1985-87 J.F.Pretlove 1987-89 F.J.Beswick 1989-91 D.Barnes 1991-93 F.R.F.Wilson 1993-95 C.D.A.Martin-Jenkins 1995-97 I.P.Fuller 1997-99 J.I.Cooper 1999-2001 P.W.Dunscombe 2001-03 D.J.Hebden 2003-05 G.P.Sherratt 2005-07 J.H.M.East 2007-09 J.C.S.Horrocks 2009-11 F.M.Akerman 2011-13 R.T.W.Warner 2013-15 R.L.Dolby 2015-18 B.J.Atkinson 2018-20 D.K.Bawtree 2020-22 D.S.Parlby 2022-J.E.McIntyre

Vice-Presidents (with dates of election)

1930s E.F.Cyriax W.F.Marchant John Bell W.R.Booth **R.B.Henderson** K.W.Millage 1951 J.Armitage V.E.A.Bowley F.F.Spragg 1957 G.R.Rimmer 1960 B.R.Griffiths E.C.Hanson 1963 R.A.Colville 1965 C.H.Eckert 1966 H.D.Beevers **E.Ll.Bailey** 1968 C.W.Atkins J.G.Burton W.H.Pett 1970 M.S.Preston 1971 C.T.Reichwald 1972 E.C.Livesey 1977 C.E.A.Whyte 1984 J.F.Burnet 1985 A.H.Buck 1987 S.H.Reid 1988 C.Shearer 1993 B.D.Dance J.D.Turner 1995 J.A.Carey 2002 C.H.R.Niven

All ex-Presidents are Vice-Presidents

Hon. Secretaries	Assistant Hon. Secretaries	Honorary Treasurers
1927-34 V.E.A.Bowley	1934-39 G.R.Rimmer	1927-38 H.D.Beevers
1934-51 J.Armitage	1960-61 A.S.Horner	1938-60 E.C.Hanson
1951-63 R.A.Colville	1963-65 S.W.Batrick	1960-65 M.R.Cornwall-Jones
1963-68 D.E.Gardner	1965-66 P.W.Scott	1966-72 P.Setchell-Smith
1968-73 A.V.Maltby	1966-67 S.W.Batrick	1972-74 J.W.Nye
1973-75 C.C.M.Arnold	1967-68 A.V.Maltby	1974-75 R.Digby-Clarke
1975-76 T.J.Wood	-	1975-77 F.W.P. de Winton
1976-83 I.P.Fuller		1977-79 K.Love
1983-88 P.J.Reeder		1979-84 F.W.P. de Winton
General Secretaries	Assistant General Secretaries	1984-87 D.S.Parlby
1988-90 J.F.Pretlove	1989-90 J.C.Fuller	1987-88 P.Oscroft
1990-93 J.C.Fuller	1988-89 J.R.Whittenbury *	1988-2015 General Secretaries
1993-2003 M.F.Beaman	-	2015-16 I.P.Fuller
2003-08 I.P.Fuller		2016-20 D.S.Parlby
2008-11 A.B.Pringle		2020- J.A.D.Tilston
2011-15 I.P.Fuller		
2015-22 P.G.Atkinson		
2022- C.R.Blakeley		

* J.R.Whittenbury assisted the new General Secretary and then became **Hon. Auditor** (see below). **The General Secretary** then became responsible for the accounts.

F.W.P. de Winton became the **Hon. Auditor** in 1997 and remains in post, although he has signed the accounts 'Hon. Examiner' since 2012. In 2015 I.P.Fuller resigned as General Secretary but continued as **Treasurer** for a year, handing over to D.S.Parlby in 2016, who was succeeded in 2020 by J.A.D.Tilston.

RFA Auditors and Archivists		
	Auditors	Archivists
	1927-47 (probably) L.L.M.Marsden	1974-76 B.R.Griffiths
	1947-68 C.W.H.Atkins	1976-80 J.Armitage
	1968-72 M.R.Cornwall-Jones	1980-87 R.A.Colville
	1972-74 H.Johnson	1987-88 O.Toller
	1974-79 H.Johnson & J.W.Nye	1988-99 P.Scally
	1979-84 K.H.C.Love	1999-2001 F.J.Beswick
	1984-88 I.P.Fuller	2001- D.Barnes
	1988-97 J.R.Whittenbury	
	1997- F.W.P. de Winton	

RFA Auditors and Archivists

The title of the Auditor office changed to Hon. Accounts Examiner in 2012.

Notes on the Archives

Missing from the collection are 'The History of Scottish Fives' compiled by J.F. and G.P.M. Cuthbertson in 1955; and the notebook in which Edgar Cyriax recorded all the games he had played over a long period, which he bequeathed to the Association.

Even sadder is the absence of the Committee Minutes and AGM records dating from the foundation of the RFA in 1927 to the beginning of the Second World War in 1939. It has been possible to reconstruct some of the AGM material from accounts in John Armitage's magazine entitled 'Squash Rackets, Fives, Tennis and Rackets' published in the 1930s, of which we have a complete collection, but the Committee Minutes are lost for ever.